Nights of neon and roses

How’s it going, blog peeps?

I’ve had a bit of a break from writing (here) recently, and to be honest from reading any blogs too. But I’ve just had a burst of sewing activity so it’s a good time to catch up.

This week is our fourth wedding anniversary – which has gone in frighteningly quick. And a special occasion calls for a special dress.

First, a warning: this fabric is bright. It’s brighter than bright. It is NEON. I believe it might glow in the dark. And to complement that delicate neon is the biggest print you’ve ever seen.

It’s not for the faint-hearted.

Neon and roses print dress

Told ya.

I bought it on sale in Mandors a few months ago (perhaps no-one else was prepared for the brightness?) and it sat gathering dust. Although I loved it, I found it hard to picture what it would become. Although I often buy fabric without anything specific in mind, I usually get a vague idea from it. This just blinded me every time I pulled it out.

What I did have though is the Cynthia Rowley pattern (Simplicity K1688) I used to make the jacket from my Portland fabric. The dress part of this pattern is really pretty and simple – and suddenly just clicked with the fabric.

Neon roses Cynthia Rowley Simplicity K1688 dress

Much like the jacket, this pattern is super easy to put together – it took maybe 2-3 hours at most, including altering and nipping in. The fabric is a printed cotton with plenty of stretch, so it’s super comfortable.


Neon roses Cynthia Rowley Simplicity K1688 dress

I’m not usually big on strappy dresses at the moment, but I like the proportions of this one a lot. I think the very clean, simple lines of the pattern show off the fabric – but they also kind of tame it a bit. Having said that, I’m looking forward to remaking this pattern in a plain, bold colour.

I also like the length, but I think I’ll also try one in kind of a midi length as well – I’m feeling this as a strong Christmas night out dress option once I find the right fabric.

Neon roses Cynthia Rowley Simplicity K1688 dress

4 years!

After so long staring at this fabric, I love the dress it’s become. It makes me feel bright and fun, it makes me smile and just generally feel as happy as you should on your wedding anniversary.
Plus, it’s probably about as close to a dress Barbie would wear as I could get away with in this stage.

On the night itself we did a tour of some of our favourite haunts near Shawlands, before trying The Salisbury for dinner. If you find yourself on the southside of Glasgow looking for a meal, I couldn’t recommend this place more. The food is ridiculously good and they’re extremely polite if, like me, you forget your phone and have to go back ten minutes later (oops).

Neon roses Cynthia Rowley Simplicity K1688 dress at The Salisbury, Glasgow

Smoked venison at The Salisbury, Glasgow

Oh, hello dinner.

Fancy pocket square

Naturally I made Craig a matching pocket square… We’re just that couple.

What’s been on your sewing machine lately?

 

This blog title is inspired by this awesome Japandroids song.

16 responses to “Nights of neon and roses

  1. Pingback: Pure Baltic man: Parakeets, a little Linton and perfect weekends | what diana did next·

Leave a Reply

