Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain

I’ve said it before I’m sure, but I have the best of best friends. A case in point is this week, when the awesome Lynsay took me along to an very special event.

Supercool Edinburgh-based events people Jelly & Gin have been running a series of cinema screenings called Watch & Wolf at the National Galleries of Scotland, and this Thursday night they showed The Wizard of Oz. It was no ordinary screening though. Billed as a ‘multi-sensory’ experience, we were given a set of food and drinks to consume while we watched the movie when the Wolf (literally a guy dressed as a wolf) held up the appropriate number.

I know, right? JUST as much fun as it sounds (ie THE MOST).

As the film played we tucked in to things like cocktail sausages, ruby slipper-coloured chocolates, toffee apples and a lollipop liquor in honour of these guys:

Lollipop Guild

And in the name of the Lollipop Guild, we wish to welcome you to Munchkin Land.

To me, this is extra-special because I love, love, LOVE the Wizard of Oz. Honestly. It’s my favourite film. I have dressed up as Dorothy on at least four occasions I can remember. I have watched the film more times than I can even think to count. I have made many friends watch it along with me. I even wore ruby slippers on my wedding day. The food and drinks were delicious, and it just added yet another layer to such a beautiful film.

Ruby slippers

These ones!

So obviously I used this as an excuse to procrastinate from the coat I am planning to make and sewed up an outfit to honour the occasion.

Now as I said, I’ve been Dorothy on quite a few occasions but I decided to try something different.

Dorothy Gale

Don’t worry Judy. I still love you.

I almost thought about some kind of Tin Man inspired outfit using my silver skirt. I also considered Glinda the good witch as I’d finally have an excuse to buy loads of tulle. But I had another idea in my head which I thought might be kinda fun and after I spotted some green twill in Remnant Kings while in picking something up for a present, it was on.

Because who else is awesomely dressed in the Wizard of Oz? THESE GUYS:

Wizard of Oz film still

It’s the Wash & Brush Up co!

Cutest dresses ever. I’m sure I could look that good every day too if I got up at 12 and started to work at 1, took an hour for lunch and then by 2 was done.

Now the dress I made is more inspired by than a copy of these. And rather than add the white collar to the actual dress, I thought I’d wear a white shirt underneath for a wee bit of warmth. It’s bloody cold here. It’s December guys, ok?

Butterick B5748 bodice Butterick B skirt green twill

I used two Butterick patterns I’ve used before – the bodice of B5748 and the skirt of B5982 – but I extended the skirt, so that it’s super full and I put big box pleats in.

I’m still not quite convinced this doesn’t look like some crazy Emerald City Primary School dress. But it went down a storm at work because, as well as being Oz-inspired, it makes me look ‘like a Christmas elf’ according to my lovely colleagues. I’ll take it! It gives me a good go-to Christmas outfit, as well as a sure-fire St Patrick’s Day look to fall back on next March.

Butterick B5748 bodice green twill

In seriousness though, for a couple of hours to sew up I’m pretty pleased with the dress. There a couple of issues around the armholes which I’d like to tweak a little, but other than that it felt swingy and Christmasy and Oz-y just like I wanted. I like the twill, but I’m kinda gutted I didn’t splash out for satin which would have looked nice too. My third option was velvet but, a couple of weeks before Christmas, it wasn’t quite in the budget.

Instead, to brighten it up, I added this immense green foil bias binding which I got at Gold Thimble down the road, and these lace motifs which I’ve had hanging round my stash for a while. There’s something very satisfying about finally finding a home for them.

Butterick B5748 bodice Butterick green twill

I also added one of my favourites, a Tatty Devine ruby slippers necklace, and a big-ass green plastic ring which I’ve had from – appropriately enough – a Christmas cracker – since I was about 13. Topping it off were trusted green We Are Faux lashes.

I’m so excited to hear whether they’re planning any more nights like this (although for me, it’s a hard film to top).

I’ll start that coat soon, honest. Oh and one more thing…

There's no place like home.

There’s no place like home.

10 responses to “Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain

  1. Pingback: Off To See The Wizard with Watch And Wolf - Miss West End Girl·

  2. Pingback: Nice weather for coats | what diana did next·

Leave a Reply

