Have yourself a merry little stitchmas

Normally I take most of December to get into the Christmas spirit. I’m not a Grinch persay, but I’m not a jingle belle either.

But this year, I’ve been super keen to get our decorations up for some reason. At the weekend, we got a real tree for the first time so the flat smells deliciously piney and it just feels like Christmas. I have also grown addicted to watching terrible Christmas movies on Netflix (the worst so far has probably been Christmas Cupid, starring Christina Milian, Chad Michael Murray and Ashley Bensen in a much-unneeded updating of A Christmas Carol). It usually takes me until at least the 22nd of December to reach that stage.

So it’s pretty much perfect timing that Remnant Kings is running its 12 Days of Stitchmas countdown where they’re highlighting Christmas crafts – and offering a £50 RK voucher to anyone who shares their make on social media using #merrystitchmas. Lucky me had the chance to take part by making one of the projects on their Christmas list. Thanks!

Last year, I made my mum a table runner as part of her Christmas present, and I really wanted one for us too. It’s also a super simple project to do but can really make an impact. So I suggested that, and headed to the shop where I spotted this amazing gold striped craft cotton:
Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

The stripe goes vertically on the fabric, but I wanted to swap it to a horizontal stripe for the actual runner. First I cut the fabric into thirds, then cut one of the thirds in half. This gives me a nice long, but not too wide runner.

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

I was pretty pleased with my pattern matching, as the stripes line up perfectly.

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

I overlocked all of my edges and simply turned them over to stitch down.

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

On the ends at the lengths, I decided to add this trim which I’ve had in my stash for a while. I’m pretty sure I got it at Fabric Bazaar. I like that it adds a bit of extra sparkle, and also a little bit of weight to the end of the runner hanging off the table.

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Each year we have a food, drink and present exchange with some of our nearest and dearest and we’re going to do that in our flat this year, so I’ll be putting this to good use soon. I also had enough fabric left to make matching napkins, yay!

I set up a wee fake table setting to show off the runner properly. Have you ever felt like there’s a total weird zone you go to for blog pics? Fake Christmas table setting on a Saturday afternoon might be mine.

I’ve also been making little decorations for friends and family this year which will form part of the place settings. I’m using Stewart dress tartan for these because I love the Christmassy colours it has – white, red, green and gold.

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

Christmas table runner gold and white striped fabric

I’m making steady progress on my sequinned top, it’s pretty much done but I took a little break to do the runner. I also now have a big pile of the sequins which I can use for other projects, woot!

Are you having a crafty Christmas?

10 responses to “Have yourself a merry little stitchmas

  1. Yay! We love it Elaine and we’re so happy you joined in with us on our 12 Days of Stitchmas! Our table runner goes live tomorrow so we’ll also link to this post on facebook and our other social media channels! Merry Stitchmas!!

  2. Lovely idea for your runner & trim – that’s why we keep our ickle stashes of pretties, isn’t it?! But the plaid hearts are fantastic – just love them – thanks for the idea!
    Happy Christmas!
    del

Leave a Reply

