If you liked it then you shoulda put some bling on it

Liberty print Elisalex with pink top and shoesHola! It’s day three of OWOP and, because I’ve shared this dress previously, I thought I’d write a quick post about something related which I’ve been meaning to write about.

First, a quick outfit rundown:

Hat: I think it was from Forever 21.

Top: New Look. This dress can be a bit chesty, so to feel covered up in work I put this over. I think it looks quite cute!

Belt: M&S

Shoes: Office

So this is my jewels-on-jewels, Liberty art print Elisalex and this fabric is probably my favourite I’ve ever bought. I love anything with gemstones, which leads me on nicely to the little DIY project I wanted to share.

From bland to bling
A few weeks ago my bestie invited me on a wee trip to Edinburgh, to attend Godiva Boutique’s first bloggers party. If you’re ever in Edinburgh, this shop is definitely worth a visit. It’s chock-ful of jewellery, clothes and accessories from some awesome Scottish designers; while out the back there’s a vintage section which has some really gorgeous pieces.

To give you a quick peek of the shop, here’s my outfit from that night which I made using Butterick 5748. I’ve yet to blog about this but there’s already too much going on in this post so it’ll have to wait 🙂

Butterick 5748 dress in bird-print and chambray fabric

And here’s my lining. Woops!

It was a great, fun-filled event with demonstrations, a chance to have a natter with some designers the boutique carries aaaannndd… a DIY station. What!
Feast your eyes on this:
Table of treats at Godiva boutique, Edinburgh So many embellishments. Obviously I was promptly lost to the joys of the customisation station and came out 20 minutes later having put a bird on it:

Customised black leather vintage bag at Godiva boutique, Edinburgh

This is the prettiest shop ever, by the way.

On the night I did like the cuteness of it, but once I got it home I wasn’t sure. I liked the birdies, but the gemstones were calling out for more. MORE. So I made an impromptu trip to The Art Store, grabbed dat gem* and attacked it with craft glue.

Plain black vintage back

The original bag in Godiva

Craft glue

The glue

Stick-on gems

The gems

Customised jewelled vintage bag

Bryan Ferry approves of the final bag.

Customised jewelled vintage bag And, now I can’t wait to use the bag. There’s something really satisfying about something which doesn’t take a lot of time or effort, but makes such a huge difference to something. A huge thank you to the lovely ladies at Godiva for first of all the wonderful night, and second the inspiration!

* #grabdatgem is a weirdly specific reference to a podcast I listen to and Guardians of the Galaxy.

6 responses to “If you liked it then you shoulda put some bling on it

  1. Um, BEST POST TITLE EVER?!
    Such a fun event and seeing you go to town on that customisation station is a memory that will always stay with me.
    The top over the Liberty print dress is super cute! xxx

Leave a Reply

