Plastic fantastic: A splash of colour in the sewing room

Despite my plans, this year so far I’ve done pretty much no sewing. Why? Well, aside from work being incredibly hectic…

IMG_2109

I’ve been doing a bit of decorating instead. So to avoid getting paint all over my many piles of waiting fabric, it was best to stow everything out of the way for a while.

We moved into our flat last year and, aside from the super colourful living room, we painted most of it a soft white. This was mainly because the previous owners had chosen to paint everything in what I can only describe as a shiny satin beige. It was as bad as it sounded. Choosing a nice base colour got us off the ground but I always wanted something a little different.

As an Art History graduate with a total obsession with modernism and early 20th century art, and a love of colour as well, I started looking for some inspiration around one of my favourite painters, Piet Mondrian.

Mondrian design painted wall in sewing room with Diana dress form

Mondrian design painted wall in sewing room with Diana dress form

I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out and especially love how it’s brightened up the room, especially in what’s a grey and dark January. There’s still more little bits and pieces to tidy up the room a little more otherwise, but now that the painting’s done, I can get back to some proper stitching.

First, I bought my pattern and fabric for the Shift Dress sewalong. While I haven’t cut out any fabric, I’ve cut my pattern pieces and had a good read at the instructions. There’s also a good bit I can read back from Rosie Wednesday and Melody Sews to get the pattern just right. for the fabric, I took advantage of John Lewis putting some patterntastic Amy Butler fabric on sale. This is called ‘Soul Blossoms’ and should really pump up the kitschy 60s style of the pattern.

Amy Butler Soul Blossoms pink patterned cotton fabric

If I enjoy this pattern (and I feel like I will), I’ll probably remake it in a plain fabric in future but I just thought, what the heck.

With some Christmas money I also invested in this absolute dream Liberty fabric from Mandors:

Liberty Art Fabrics Alexandra print cotton - digital jewel print

What can I say? I adore a digital print, a big costume jewel, pink and turquoise. And, my besties got me an incredible Crown and Glory headband for Christmas which is also covered in turquoise jewels, so it’s all coming together.

My plan for the Liberty print is to – as mentioned in my last post – to make my first By Hand London Elisalex. Thanks to another present (I love my friends) I now have a croquis-filled sketchbook to plan projects as well.

Croquis sketchbook, with By Hand London Elisalex pattern drawn in

Looking forward to firing up the machines! I’ve also been too busy to keep up with any blog reading lately :/ so I’m off to do some catching up.

7 responses to “Plastic fantastic: A splash of colour in the sewing room

  1. amazing how a relatively simple transformation can have such a huge impact – it looks fabulous – it would make me happy to sew in such a room!

  2. Oh my goodness, this is amazing!! I went to a joint Piet Mondrian & Ben Nicholson exhibition last year & loved seeing his work in real life-it must make you so happy to sew surrounded by your very own Mondrian!

    • Aw thanks! That sounds like a great exhibition, what a great combination. I’ve only seen a couple of Mondrians in real life so I’d love something like that 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blogistentialism: Blackpool, Liverpool and Linton | what diana did next·

Leave a Reply

