Baby, I’m afraid I’m falling for you

Ah sewing challenges. How you entice me, and how I almost always end up scrabbling at the last minute to complete me. We’re now in the last gasps of September, and I while I remember signing up for Fall for Cotton with plenty of time to spare, it didn’t quite pan out that way (I’d probably have left it even later, but I’m literally leaving the country tomorrow and so wouldn’t have actually be able to finish this off on time otherwise).

I cut out and sewed this dress up in a couple of hours tonight off and on (the bare bones didn’t take long, but I fiddled around with the sleeves for an absolute age – they aren’t the ones from the pattern, but split sleeves which sit a little out from the armholeds instead) which I think is not bad. It’s a second version of the Farrah Fawcett dress from Famous Frocks, which I had really wanted to redo in a less stiff fabric.

Farrah Fawcett wrap dress in raspberry jersey

Again, I felt like it was super simple to put together. What I changed this time around was, instead of facing the edges I overlocked and turned them in, and instead of having a ribbon to keep the dress together I put in a button on the inside and on the wrap. This was kindofa last minute decision as well and I’ll probably at some point replace the current buttons with smaller, more delicate ones rather than ones I just had in my sewing box.

I chose a raspberry pink cotton jersey from Mandors (100% cotton was the rule and, with it coming in to winter, I felt like I’d get a good bit more wear out of this). I love pinks and this is one I think will serve me well to brighten up some cold nights with some black, grey or navy tights. As a bonus, it’s appropriate workwear.

I’m hoping to get some proper pics (of me actually wearing it) while on holiday.

I don’t have a lot of time (due to flight tomorrow) but I will, at some point share more about Fall for Cotton as my originally planned dress (Butterick B5605) is currently, after much ripping, stitching, and hair-pulling-out, languishing in my stash as a UFO. Meh!

You can see some of the other projects on the Fall for Cotton flickr; some really gorgeous stuff.

5 responses to “Baby, I’m afraid I’m falling for you

  1. Ooh, I do like those sleeves. And the colour is gorgeous. Well done on getting this dress finished in time, and I’m looking forward to hearing more about it.
    Bon voyage!

  2. This is fabulous! I do love a (mock)wrap jersey dress and your sleeves are beautiful! I’m going to have to check out that book now, two awesome makes from it & there are 20 I read? excellent! 😉

Leave a Reply

