A little trip to Linton

Image

So. Much. Tweed…

So a couple of weeks ago when heading down to Manchester, I convinced the boy a little trip to Linton Tweeds in Carlisle would be a good detour on the way. After all, it’s just about the distance we usually travel before stopping for lunch.

In case you haven’t heard of it, Linton is a tweed maker with more than 100 years of history.

They made their name supplying to Chanel – those tweed suits. More recently, they supplied to my very own mum who made a trip down last year and made a gorgeous edge-to-edge jacket. Also, Ann from the Great British Sewing Bee made the jacket which helped her win a place in the final – and then of course she went on to win. So some quality stuff.

I went with the intention of getting some decent black tweed because I had a hankering for some smart black shorts. I’d had a look for some black wool or crepe but I hadn’t found anything I really liked, and thought I might give tweed a try.

The shop surely provided; the section of it dedicated to fabric is small, but perfectly formed. There’s piles of  tweed (as you can see above) stacked into the corner, and hung around the walls.

I got the black tweed – £18/m but I only needed one – for the shorts; as I didn’t have a shorts pattern I made a couple of adjustments to the trousers from my 1940s-style suit pattern, Simplicity 3688.

I wore them on the last day of Me Made May and I’m pretty pleased with them.

The real excitement wasn’t, however, in the neatly stacked shelves. It was the giant basket labeled Remnants: £5.

Wuuuuuuut?! I haven’t been this excited since I saw an Office sale shop. I almost dived in the bin and found two amazing pieces of fabric – each more than 1m long.

Here’s one:

Image

How pretty is this colour?

I’m thinking I’ll probably use it for one of my 60s dress patterns – one I’ve already used to make a tartan dress – but a little shorter. Luckily at the moment, I’ve got the overlocker, so I don’t need to worry about fraying.

Before I made the shorts, though, I had to dive in to my other bargain find, another 1m+ strip I can only describe as Schiparelli pink.

I made my little pink skater-y skirt with the same suit pattern, but a good five inches shorter and wore it during Me Made May (it doesn’t really fit Diana though). Excitingly I’ve still got just shy of a metre left so I think I might get a little cape or bolero out of it as well.

Image

So… next time you’re in Carlisle…

2 responses to “A little trip to Linton

  1. Pingback: Looks like we made it! The second half of me-made-may | what diana did next·

Leave a Reply

