Challenging times: That’s Sew Cinematic and Me-Made-May

So, I’ve not been up to much sewing in the last week or so, just because life has been pretty busy.

I have, however, while not actually giving myself time to sew, been deciding left right and centre to take part in challenges, joint sews and whatever; what can I say, OWOP must have gone to my head!

First off, I’d see a little while ago on Rhinestones and Telephones about That’s Sew Cinematic, and just adored the idea. So if you haven’t seen, it’s about creating garments inspired by your favourite actors/actresses from film, stage and television.

Now that is a wide remit by any standard. However, in terms of film fashion, there’s obviously a few names which come back again and again. I spent most of last year studying the most perfect example; Audrey Hepburn, because I was obsessed with her wedding dress from Funny Face which became the main inspiration for my own.

When considering making something for That’s Sew Cinematic, I first thought about not that most famous of black dresses from Breakfast At Tiffany’s, but this pink one:

Everything about this outfit is gorgeous; the neckline, the beading, the matchy-matchy long coat she has. However, I do already have a dress this shape, in pink, which I love.. and although recreating this might still stay on the backburner of my mind for a future project, it’s not right for now.

At the same time, there’s one character which I always come back to in my head in terms of film fashion. Call it a love born from an impressionable age, but, after 17 years, I still see Clueless as a bit of a watershed moment in terms of fashion development (I also still have the same crush on Paul Rudd. <3).

Then I discovered this video:

And my fate was pretty much sealed. So, it might not be up in the glamour stakes like other participants; she may be no Rita Hayworth; but really, Cher is still the bomb.

Another reason to this focus is that I’ve been wanting to make a blazer-style jacket for quite a while, so this is the perfect opportunity to spur myself on. There’s also some incredible check and plaid fabric in Mandors, including a silk dupion in pink check, which I have been wanting an excuse to buy for ages. I am going fully back to the 90s with this (tonight I’m actually off to a 90s themed club night, which is faintly depressing in terms of making me feel pretty old, but might also get me back in the spirit).

I’ve chosen, though, this 40’s style retro pattern from Simplicity to make one up:

First, because I love the blouse pattern as well, second, I wanted a trouser pattern to try and get myself back into wearing them, and third, I saw a make-up of the jacket recently on a blog which was gorgeous; so it seemed a good bet. The skirt, too, can be chopped to form the kind of short, flippy a-line which makes the perfect Cher style. So that’s me. I probably won’t go for the entire plaid suit look. Probably.

Adding on to this (and hopefully, the above work will give me a few more clothing options), I had a quick look at all the stuff I’ve made over the last couple of years, and decided to join in Me-Made-May, which you can read all about here on So, Zo… What Do You Know?

Here’s the pledge I made:

‘I, Elaine of whatdianadidnext, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’12. I endeavour to wear one me-made garment each day for the duration of May 2012.’

My theory is, I have just enough (*if* I do some repairs which I’ve put off for ages, and finish some half-done projects, and put a little more of my stash to use!) to get through a month on what I’ve made so far. I also have an idea to whip up some additional accessories; corsages and hair bows and so on, to get me through the leaner days.

All in, I’m pretty excited. So if all goes well, it could be a good couple of months.

Leave a Reply

